Hello

Name TagsMy name is mental illness – No got that wrong again – My name is Eric. Now if I can mix those up I can just imagine how many other people can. And they do!

Sometimes I feel like I am wearing one of those HI MY NAME IS…. stickers and of course underneath there would be BI-POLAR, SOCIAL ANXIATY, AND BOUTS OF DEPRESSION. Instead of my name.

It sounds silly but I feel like it is pinned to my chest 24/7. I know “I just project my malady” as my doctor used to say. It still doesn’t remove the sticker from my shirt.

Ok I wear that damned sticker, the whole world knows I have a mental illness. Why do they treat me that way….The way a dog can be treated. Some would pick up the dog and take him home, others would just kick the dog to the curb and walk away.

Ok I am exaggerating the story of that poor dog, but some times I feel “over coddled” or treated with distain.

I am simply a human with an illness. Just treat me that way. ⇒⇒Ripping off the sticker from my shirt⇐⇐ “I’ll just tell everyone I have the flu”

1 Comment

Filed under Expose

One response to “Hello

  1. That last sentence tells it all. People accept broken bones, and catastropic (sp) Illness but they just don’t accept broken spirits or emotions. It’s disgusting. Dog. Meet Dog! Great post!

    Like

Leave a comment